Sunday, February 12, 2012
But anyway! I have started a new blog with my man friend named Aaron. It will be updated more often so if you would like to follow it, just let me know (you can just comment on here or something) and I can send you an invite! I promise it will be exciting! (okay, I can't promise that but still..humor me..)
Let me know!
Wednesday, August 31, 2011
It may not seem like a big deal, but this jacket is the jacket of my DREAMS. There is no jacket that I want more than this one. And Aaron helped get it for me. I am the luckiest girl in the whole world. I cannot wait to marry him.
Alright..thats enough mush.
Thursday, August 4, 2011
Wednesday, August 3, 2011
Monday, August 1, 2011
I find that MOST foods are gluten-free. Fruits, veggies, hot dogs, yogurt, eggs, milk, potato chips(for the most part)..etc. So it really isn't that hard. Today for breakfast I had greek yogurt, homemade gluten-free granola, and some fruit. Then for lunch I had popcorn. So simple. I even dissected a cafe rio tostada in my mind and I can't think of anything that has gluten in it besides maybe the dressing. It is only gluten free if you get the corn tortilla and not the regular one. But the tostadas just come with a corn tortilla. Lettuce, cheese, rice, beans, (meat), dressing..I'll have to look up the dressing. Sometimes mayo has gluten, or just salad dressings in general. So we'll have to see about that. Well, I will stop myself from writing an entire paragraph about cafe rio. Even though I could. But its making me hungry.
So day 1: So far so good. No Wheat in sight :)
Thursday, July 28, 2011
Gluten-free dietBy Mayo Clinic staff
A gluten-free diet is a diet that excludes the protein gluten. Gluten is found in grains such as wheat, barley and rye.
A gluten-free diet is used to treat celiac disease. Gluten causes inflammation in the small intestines of people with celiac disease. Eating a gluten-free diet helps people with celiac disease control their signs and symptoms and prevent complications.
Initially, following a gluten-free diet may be frustrating. But with time, patience and creativity, you'll find there are many foods that you can eat and enjoy while observing a gluten-free diet.
The gluten-free diet is a treatment for celiac disease.
In order to avoid eating gluten, avoid food and drinks containing:
- Graham flour
- Matzo meal
- Spelt (a form of wheat)
Avoid unless labeled 'gluten free'
Avoid these foods unless they're labeled as gluten free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain. Also check the label to see that they're processed in a facility that is free of wheat or other contaminating products:
- Cakes and pies
- Imitation meats or seafood
- Processed luncheon meats
- Salad dressings
- Sauces (including soy sauce)
- Self-basting poultry
Certain grains, such as oats, can be contaminated with wheat during growing and processing stages of production. It's not clear whether oats are harmful for most people with celiac disease, but doctors generally recommend avoiding oats unless they are specifically labeled gluten free. The question of whether people eating a gluten-free diet can consume pure oat products remains a subject of scientific debate.
Many other products that you eat or that could come in contact with your mouth may contain gluten. These include:
- Food additives, such as malt flavoring, modified food starch and others
- Lipstick and lip balms
- Medications and vitamins that use gluten as a binding agent
- Play dough
Cross-contamination also may occur anywhere ingredients come together, such as on a cutting board or a grill surface. You may be exposed to gluten by using the same utensils as others, such as a bread knife, or by sharing the same condiment containers — the condiment bottle may touch the bun, or a knife with bread crumbs may contaminate a margarine stick or mayonnaise jar.
There are still many basic foods allowed in a gluten-free diet. With all foods, check to see that each is labeled gluten free or call the manufacturer to double-check.
Grains and starches allowed in a gluten-free diet include:
- Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato, bean)
- Hominy grits
- Pure corn tortillas
Check the label when buying amaranth, buckwheat and quinoa. These can be contaminated with gluten during processing.
Other gluten-free foods include:
- Fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
- Most dairy products
- Wine and distilled liquors, ciders and spirits
An increasing number of gluten-free products, such as bread and pasta, are becoming available. If you can't find them in your area, check with a celiac support group or on the Web. Gluten-free substitutes are available for many gluten-containing foods, from brownies to beer. Many specialty grocery stores sell gluten-free foods.
I am very excited to start this experiment and I hope it goes well. I have Aaron supporting me (I think hes going to try it too) and that will make the biggest difference. I am going to start on August 1st. It is hard for me to start new things on days that aren't either on a Monday or the first of the month. Luckily, in this case, Monday is the first! How convenient. I will blog again on that day. Ciao!